Episode 14: Yann Martel on The High Mountains of Portugal

Hello lovely listeners!

yannmartelcollageYann Martel, author of brilliant award-winning novel Life of Pi (if you didn’t read the book, you may have seen the Oscar-winning film) was in Winnipeg last week promoting his new book The High Mountains of Portugal. A novel made up of three related-yet-unrelated stories – Homeless, Homeward, Home – tied together by geography, The High Mountains of Portugal is “gleefully bizarre and genuinely thrilling,” according to The Globe & Mail.

I really enjoyed this book and had the chance to sit in on a conversation Ben MacPhee-Sigurdson of the Winnipeg Free Press had with Martel at the Winnipeg Free Press News Café last Monday. Listen in!

What a great interview! Shout out to the Winnipeg Free Press for hosting Yann Martel and supporting the Canadian arts scene, and big thanks to the News Café for organizing a lovely morning. You can pick up a copy of The High Mountains of Portugal at all major booksellers in-store and online.

I’m also excited to announce that the winner of last episode’s book giveaway is Alixe Edwards, who won a copy of Jane Johnson’s Pillars of Light – congrats!! It’s such a great book and I can’t wait to hear what you think about it.

You’ve all been such amazing supporters of this podcast and I’m so grateful for you. It’s been so fun putting these episodes together and talking to different authors and literary guests. I’ll be back in two weeks with another episode – I’ve got a really cool guest coming up and you won’t want to miss it!

Thanks so much for listening to this week’s episode of the Literally, Katrina podcast! To stay up-to-date on all things Literally, Katrina and books, subscribe to the Literally, Katrina podcast on iTunes or the Apple podcast app, like the Literally, Katrina Facebook page and Pinterest board, and follow me on Twitter and Insta @LitKatrina.

Until next time, happy reading!
Katrina

Episode 13: Mennonite Girls Can Cook!

MGCC headerHello listeners!

On this week’s episode, I have the absolute pleasure of interviewing Charlotte Penner, contributor to the bestselling cookbook, Mennonite Girls Can Cook. Charlotte and I chat about the origins of the Mennonite Girls Can Cook group, and how this wonderful cookbook, which includes both traditional Mennonite and modern non-Mennonite recipes (all of them equally delicious!), has had an incredible impact on a community in need in Ukraine.

 MGCC contributors (standing) Julie Klassen, Charlotte Penner, Judy Wiebe, Betty Reimer, Lovella Schellenberg, Marg Bartel, Bev Klassen (seated) Annaliese Friesen, Kathy McLellan, Ellen Bayles. Photo by Beatriz Photography (Mennonite Brethren Herald)

MGCC contributors (standing) Julie Klassen, Charlotte Penner, Judy Wiebe, Betty Reimer, Lovella Schellenberg, Marg Bartel, Bev Klassen (seated) Annaliese Friesen, Kathy McLellan, Ellen Bayles.
Photo by Beatriz Photography (Mennonite Brethren Herald)

Listen in on our conversation!

mennogirlscookbooksYou can find Mennonite Girls Can Cook and Mennonite Girls Can Cook: Celebrations at major booksellers in Winnipeg, as well as online. Pick up your copies today! They also make excellent gifts. A new devotional book, Bread for the Journey, is expected to be released this year as well. Thank you to Charlotte for sitting down to chat with me about what’s next for the MGCC crew.

 

25614833Don’t forget to enter to win a copy of Jane Johnson’s stunning novel Pillars of Light, a book I reviewed for the Winnipeg Free Press a little while ago – keep your eyes on Instagram for your chance to win! I loved this book and hope you will, too.

Thanks so much for listening to this week’s episode of the Literally, Katrina podcast! I’ll be back in two weeks with another episode. To stay up-to-date on all things Literally, Katrina and books, subscribe to the Literally, Katrina podcast on iTunes or the Apple podcast app, like the Literally, Katrina Facebook pageand Pinterest board, and follow me on Twitter and Insta @LitKatrina.

Until next time, happy reading!
Katrina

 

Episode 9: New year, new books!

Screen Shot 2016-01-10 at 8.27.00 PMHello lovely listeners!

Happy 2016 – I’m so happy to be back with more author interviews, book reviews, and other fun book things on the Literally, Katrina podcast! In today’s episode, I talk about some fantastic books I read over the holidays and I also review The Road to Atlantis, written by Canadian author Leo Brent Robillard.

Literally, Katrina is the first stop on a blog tour to get the word out about The Road to Atlantis, a powerful novel about family, tragedy, and what it means to rebuild after you lose everything. It’s so heartbreakingly good! Listen in for my review of the book, as well my interview with Turnstone Press’s associate publisher Jamis Paulson about the blog tour.

I am also giving away a copy of The Road to Atlantis to one lucky listener!! All you have to do is follow @LitKatrina on Instagram and like the Episode 9 post to enter. I’ll be announcing the winner in one week from today, on Monday, January 18th. Good luck!

Looking for some great reads to dig into this year? Here’s a list of what I read over the break:

throne of glass seriesThe Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas. I binge-read the entire series over the holidays and I’m pretty smitten. The fourth instalment in the series, Queen of Shadows, won the 2015 Goodreads Choice Award for Best Young Adult Fantasy – well deserved!

25614833Pillars of Light, written by British author Jane Johnson, is a 12th century epic set during the Third Crusade. Chronicling the notorious Siege of Acre, this stunning adventure of a novel reveals both the brutality and beauty of humanity through the eyes of ordinary people. For fans of Philippa Gregory and Ken Follett, and reminiscent of Ridley Scott’s 2005 film Kingdom of Heaven, this irresistible and humanizing epic is sure to delight. I loved this book! Catch my review of this novel in the Winnipeg Free Press in the coming weeks.

And speaking of the Winnipeg Free Press, my review of the award-winning novel Book of Sands by Karim Alrawi was out on Boxing Day. Missed it? Check it out here.

Thanks for listening! Don’t forget to subscribe to Literally, Katrina on iTunes (or the Apple Podcast App), like Literally, Katrina on Facebook, follow me on Twitter @LitKatrina, and add me on Insta @LitKatrina.

Here’s to a happy and healthy 2016 full of good books and good people!

Until next time, happy reading.
Katrina