Episode 10: To Market, to Mark-it

Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 5.15.28 PMHello listeners!

This week’s episode is dedicated to the business of book markets. Three times a year, St. Vital Mall hosts a book sale to raise funds for the Children’s Hospital, and this is where I buy most of my books for the year! You can’t beat the deals (new hardcovers for less than $5, softcovers for $1.50 – it’s a dream) and the funds raised go directly to the Children’s Hospital Foundation, so you can feel good about your purchases, too!

In this week’s episode, I chat with Carol Irving from the Children’s Hospital Guild of Manitoba, who organizes the Children’s Hospital Book Markets each year. We talk about how the book markets got started, the work the amazing volunteers do to get everything ready for the book markets, and where the funds go. I also share my tips and tricks for tackling a book market.

literallykatrina bookmarkIn other news, to spread the word about the Literally, Katrina podcast, I’ve hidden bookmarks (for a sneak peek, see the image at left) at bookstores across the city in bestsellers, books we’ve talked about on the podcast, and all my favourites – if you pick up a book with one in it, it’s yours to keep or give away! Go forth and have fun! And don’t forget to tell your friends about the podcast.

Thanks to the Children’s Hospital Book Market organizers and volunteers for all the work you do, and thanks to Carol Irving – it was a pleasure learning more about the book markets! Don’t forget to stop by the Children’s Hospital Book Market taking place on February 4, 5, and 6 at St. Vital Mall.

Thanks for listening to this week’s episode. I’ll be back in two weeks with local author Gerald Sliva. Don’t forget to subscribe to Literally, Katrina on iTunes (or the Apple Podcast App), like Literally, Katrina on Facebook and Pinterest, follow me on Twitter @LitKatrina, and add me on Insta @LitKatrina.

Until next time, happy reading!
Katrina

Episode 9: New year, new books!

Screen Shot 2016-01-10 at 8.27.00 PMHello lovely listeners!

Happy 2016 – I’m so happy to be back with more author interviews, book reviews, and other fun book things on the Literally, Katrina podcast! In today’s episode, I talk about some fantastic books I read over the holidays and I also review The Road to Atlantis, written by Canadian author Leo Brent Robillard.

Literally, Katrina is the first stop on a blog tour to get the word out about The Road to Atlantis, a powerful novel about family, tragedy, and what it means to rebuild after you lose everything. It’s so heartbreakingly good! Listen in for my review of the book, as well my interview with Turnstone Press’s associate publisher Jamis Paulson about the blog tour.

I am also giving away a copy of The Road to Atlantis to one lucky listener!! All you have to do is follow @LitKatrina on Instagram and like the Episode 9 post to enter. I’ll be announcing the winner in one week from today, on Monday, January 18th. Good luck!

Looking for some great reads to dig into this year? Here’s a list of what I read over the break:

throne of glass seriesThe Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas. I binge-read the entire series over the holidays and I’m pretty smitten. The fourth instalment in the series, Queen of Shadows, won the 2015 Goodreads Choice Award for Best Young Adult Fantasy – well deserved!

25614833Pillars of Light, written by British author Jane Johnson, is a 12th century epic set during the Third Crusade. Chronicling the notorious Siege of Acre, this stunning adventure of a novel reveals both the brutality and beauty of humanity through the eyes of ordinary people. For fans of Philippa Gregory and Ken Follett, and reminiscent of Ridley Scott’s 2005 film Kingdom of Heaven, this irresistible and humanizing epic is sure to delight. I loved this book! Catch my review of this novel in the Winnipeg Free Press in the coming weeks.

And speaking of the Winnipeg Free Press, my review of the award-winning novel Book of Sands by Karim Alrawi was out on Boxing Day. Missed it? Check it out here.

Thanks for listening! Don’t forget to subscribe to Literally, Katrina on iTunes (or the Apple Podcast App), like Literally, Katrina on Facebook, follow me on Twitter @LitKatrina, and add me on Insta @LitKatrina.

Here’s to a happy and healthy 2016 full of good books and good people!

Until next time, happy reading.
Katrina

Episode 6: #CozyChristmas

 Hello listeners,
Lindsy Boyd Dickenson's first novel in the Fortune Valley series, Love in Fortune Valley.
Lindsy Boyd Dickenson’s first novel in the Fortune Valley series, Love in Fortune Valley.

Episode 6 of the Literally, Katrina podcast is here – along with the snow! I personally love this time of year, and to honour the holiday season and the fact that Literally, Katrina is now on Instagram, I’m doing another book giveaway! Holla! Add @LitKatrina on Insta for your chance to win an amazing – and cozy – prize pack. I’ll be revealing parts of the prize pack throughout the month of December, so keep your eyes on Insta for #CozyChristmas posts and for details on how to enter to win. The winner will be announced on December 21st – it’s my Christmas present to you!

In today’s episode, I chat with local author Linda Dickenson, whose Fortune Valley series you can find on Amazon.ca under Lindsy Boyd Dickenson. She has two books out in the series – Love in Fortune Valley and Return to Fortune Valley, Another Sunset, Linda’s third novel, will be out this winter.
 Thanks for listening! Don’t forget to subscribe to Literally, Katrina on iTunes (or the Apple Podcast App), like Literally, Katrina on Facebook, follow me on Twitter @LitKatrina, and add me on Insta @LitKatrina.
I’ll be back in two weeks with an exciting panel of newbie authors – you won’t want to miss it.
Until then, happy reading!
– Katrina

 

Episode 2: Poetic Storytelling

Photo by Miranda Lynn Photography.
Photo by Miranda Lynn Photography.

Hello listeners!

There are lots of exciting things in store for you in Episode 2! We start off with a recap of the Thin Air, the Winnipeg International Writer’s Festival (I hope you got a chance to attend an event this past week!). We also hear from Mike Johnston, member of the Winnipeg Poetry Slam Team about poetry as a powerful form of storytelling – my sister makes a surprise guest appearance!

Make sure you listen straight to the end of the episode, because that’s where you’ll learn about how to enter to win a copy of Elizabeth Hay’s new book His Whole Life.

Next week, I interview Manitoba author (and former CreComm instructor!) Armin Wiebe about his new book Armin’s Shorts, out now. I’ll also be announcing the winner of our very first book giveaway!

Thanks for listening and happy reading,
Katrina

Bright lights and the big city….of Lockport

Hello readers,

Today we’re taking a break from books (I know, how dare we cheat on books?!) to talk about Lockport. Lockport, you ask? Yes, friends, the cute little hamlet of Lockport, located 25 km north of Winnipeg.

I visited a shop in town that is oh-so-cute, so I wanted to share some photos and a story with you!


 

Huda Haddad, owner of Eveline Street Clothing boutique, is in a rush to make it to the airport. She’s celebrating her one-year wedding anniversary in Banff and her flight leaves in an hour.

 

“I’m just leaving but come in and play. Try on anything you want. Try on these shoes,” she says, pointing to a bright green and purple pair. “You’ll love them. Most of these are custom. I have the best selection of Fluevogs in Manitoba.”

Fluevog Shoes
Fluevog Shoes

 

With that, she hands the store keys off to long-time customer-turned-employee Jaime Bouw and hits the road.

 

“That’s Huda,” says Bouw, 55, laughing. “She’s a whirlwind.”

 

Bouw is working her first shift alone at the store. Her regular gig is teaching girls about self-esteem and body positivity at a school in St. Andrews. She also teaches classes at Growing Years, a family resource centre in Selkirk. This weekend, she’s helping out at the boutique while Haddad is away.

cute clothes!
cute clothes!

 

Bouw gives us full run of the store, letting us try on dresses and rearrange shoe displays for photographs. When I hold up a coral sundress and ask its size, Bouw tells me that it’s one-size-fits-all.

 

Haddad says that Eveline Street is all about loving who you are. Size doesn’t matter here.

 

“I really feel strongly that women need to love their bodies,” Bouw says. “You come in here and everything fits you.”

 

“Huda’s so capable of making you feel like the most beautiful person in the world, no matter what you’re wearing,” she says. “I think that’s what women are looking for.”

 

Haddad’s 21-year-old business has been built on creating relationships with the women that visit her store.

 

“This is a different kind of shopping experience,” Bouw explains. “It’s not just about making money – she delivers so much more.”

 

cozy!
cozy!

Open seven days a week from noon to 5 p.m., and located 25 kilometers north of Winnipeg, Haddad’s store is a stone’s throw from Lockport’s legendary locks. You can find the rustic shop beside Lockport Grocery – General Store and Liquor Vendor on Highway 44. For more information about Lockport, visit http://www.lockportmanitoba.ca. You can also visit Haddad’s Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/EvelineStreetClothing.

When you visit Eveline Street Clothing, you are guaranteed to gain a few friends and a boost in self-confidence. You may leave Lockport with a lighter wallet, but you will also leave with a lighter heart.

Cute, right?

Next week on the blog, we’ll get back to books! I’m almost finished reading The Girl on The Train by Paula Hawkins, and people, it’s crazy. More on that in the coming weeks!

Happy reading,
Katrina